Expert Panel

The day will finish with a panel discussion between Professor Sharon Ruston, graphic novelist and author of The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage Sydney Padua, author and biographer Miranda Seymour, and Professor Richard Holmes, biographer and author of works including The Age of Wonder.

Richard Holmes has written biographies of Shelley, Coleridge and Mary Wollstonecraft. His group biography of scientists and poets, The Age of Wonder won the Royal Society Science Book Prize (UK, 2009), and the National Book Critics Circle Award for Non-Fiction (USA, 2009).His unconventional  history of Victorian balloon flight and atmospheric science, Falling Upwards,  was one of Time Magazine’s Top Ten Nonfiction Books of 2013. He is a Fellow of the British Academy, an Honorary Fellow of  Churchill College, Cambridge and writes regularly for the New York Review of Books, and  for Nature (including the current bicentenary article on Lovelace).

Miranda Seymour is a novelist, critic and biographer. Her books include lives of Mary Shelley (2000) and Robert Graves (1995) and the award winning memoir: In My Father’s House. She is currently writing a twin life of Annabella Byron and Ada Lovelace, which focuses on the making – and breaking – of Victorian reputations. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature and has been a Visiting Professor at Nottingham Trent.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s